Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DevkitPPC setup (Linux) Please, Help!

Posted by Wiiman90 
DevkitPPC setup (Linux) Please, Help!
March 01, 2009 03:23AM
Hello! My name its Joey, but here I am "Wiiman90" and I suddenly join this forum because I look for good sources in Wiibrew and also because I need help regarding in setting up "devkitPro>devkitPPC".

I am currently a Computer Science student and I'm barely starting on this "Programming" career, I decide that if I have a Wii, I'm studying to be a programmer, Why I don't start too developing in a "Wii Development Project" which is the DevkitPro.

So I decide to use Linux, (Xubuntu 8.10) and I try to understand this steps here in the Wiibrew Website and I don't get it well.DevkitPPC setup (Linux)

the folder wiiload should only contain the executable "wiiload" that you found in the homebrew channel

* Edit ~/.bashrc and add 

export DEVKITPRO=/path/to/devkitpro # replace this by your actual path
export DEVKITPPC=$DEVKITPRO/devkitPPC
PATH=$PATH:$DEVKITPPC/bin
PATH=$PATH:$DEVKITPRO/wiiload/lin32

Here, I know that I have to open "Terminal" and type in the directory of ./bashrc and open it with gedit using:

sudo cd /home/Joey/

and to edit bashrc I type:
sudo gedit ./bashrc

or using Konqueror with root privileges.

My doubt is if I want to add the devkitPPC in home how I do that in the ./bashrc ?

I don't quite get the sintasxis of the " * Edit ~/.bashrc and add ".

Can anyone help me set my Wii Development Ebviroment in Linux?

Thanks
Wiiman90
Re: DevkitPPC setup (Linux) Please, Help!
March 01, 2009 03:28AM
linux is kinda fun to fiddle with but using root will give you abilities you normally dont have. log on as "root" and see if that helps.
March 01, 2009 03:38AM
Hey man, the problem is not the "root" privileges, once I use sudo in Terminal or Konqueror with root privileges I can modified any file I want, including the ./bashrc.