Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can I update my wii to 4.2 without bricking?

Posted by bentomo 
Can I update my wii to 4.2 without bricking?
October 06, 2009 02:17PM
Hello, I'm new to homebrew, but I am familiar enough with computers to follow a guide on how to bannerbomb a wii so I did. I also have bootmii on my wii. Well here's my question.

I can't get the wii shop channel or the nintendo channel to work because it asks me for the update.

I've tried updating officially but I just brick my wii and have to use bootmii to get back.

My wii is currently 4.0u

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/06/2009 02:18PM by bentomo.
Re: Can I update my wii to 4.2 without bricking?
October 06, 2009 02:53PM
Don't bother updating, it doesn't have any new features, and will impair some homebrew. Use the Wii Shop and IOS61 Installer to get the shop channel back.
October 07, 2009 01:08AM
So how do I install those?
October 07, 2009 06:31AM
Its an app. Run it through the HBC.
October 07, 2009 10:50PM
Ok, so where is a trusted place to download them?
October 07, 2009 11:05PM
WiiBrew.org is a pretty good place to download homebrew...

Or did you mean IOS61 and Shop Channel? If the later, you run the homebrew and it uses your Wii's WiFi to download them, you dont have to manually download them.
October 07, 2009 11:31PM
SifJar
WiiBrew.org is a pretty good place to download homebrew...
Wiibrew is a good place to download homebrew. It is THE place to download homebrew. ;)
October 09, 2009 02:23AM
Mk, so I've got the folder extracted, now is all I have to do is put the folder in the apps folder in the root of the sd and change the dol and elf names to boot.dol and elf.dol

Is that it? Then just run it on the homebrew channel?

P.S. Will this also fix the nintendo channel?
October 09, 2009 02:29AM
It needs to be named either boot.dol or boot.elf, not elf.dol.

Make sure its in the apps folder and the directory looks like this:
ROOT:/apps/the_app_you're_using/boot.dol