Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Total Noob question about Homebrew channel

Posted by darthrader 
Total Noob question about Homebrew channel
June 29, 2009 01:25AM
I am only interested in installing the Homebrew Channel to make a backup of my animal crosing city folk game, using the savegame extractor

I created the SD card with the Homebrew files on it but I have not loaded it yet.

here is the noob question,

there are 3 options when you push in the SD card.

Install Homebrew
Install BootMii
Install DVDX

I do not want to install BootMII or DVDX. Can I just install the Homebrew channel from this screen? If yes, this will then allow me to run the savegame extractor?

In other words can I just install Homebrew or do I also need BootMii.
Re: Total Noob question about Homebrew channel
June 29, 2009 02:01AM
No, you do not need to install bootmii of DVDX, but there's no reason why you shouldn't. There are a lot of benefits you can get by using bootmii and dvdx.
But, if all you really want to do is backup your save, its OK to only install the homebrew channel.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2009 02:01AM by WaxyPumpkin72.
June 29, 2009 02:19AM
1) In your opinion how safe is this?

2) I have done a little more reading about bricked systems. Does BootMi help recover a bricked system?
June 29, 2009 02:24AM
darthrader
1) In your opinion how safe is this?

2) I have done a little more reading about bricked systems. Does BootMi help recover a bricked system?

Since installing BootMii and keeping regular nand backups on file, I've been much more free to play around with different homebrew apps and abilities without worrying about bricking my wii. I have semi-bricked it twice by installing the wrong things, but I was easily able to restore my backups from sd. It ends up working a lot like microsoft windows system restore function, it sets everything back to how it used to be.
June 29, 2009 02:28AM
Thanks for the feedback,