Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Total Noob question about Homebrew channel

Posted by darthrader 
Re: Total Noob question about Homebrew channel
July 01, 2009 07:44PM
bredav
I'll give it a go, though it's my wife's wii and i'm a bit worried about bricking it. I read something about doing a back-up of flash memory for possible system restore if all goes tits up. Is there an app for this or how's it done?

Bootmii. Its bundled in with the hackmii installer.

bredav
Also be grateful for your insight into stuff I've half understood about wii 4.0e not allowing usb 2.0 communication. Perhaps I can still watch films at usb 1.0 speeds?

I'm not sure about USB speeds, buy you could go make a topic in Getting Started and see the results you get from there. :)
July 01, 2009 07:52PM
I believe USB may not work at all. The reason USB 2.0 is said to not work, is that for USB 2.0, you must install cIOS, which requires trucha bug, an exploit only existing in firmwares <4.0. the best firmware for it is 3.2, but I believe it can be exploited in basically any firmware other than 4.0. So that's why USB 2.0 won't work. But I'm not sure if USB 1.0 works without the cIOS, or if it even works with the cIOS. I've never really heard it mentioned in regards to Wii homebrew. But I don't think all homebrew requires that cIOS for USB 2.0, I think it's only MPlayer CE, for example, the latest HBC will work with USB if there is no SD Card inserted, and I don't think you need USB 2.0 cIOS.
July 01, 2009 10:15PM
USB 1.0 doesn't require a cIOS because it is already implemented in IOSes.