Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Preloader caused Homebrew blackscreen

Posted by nomad777 
Preloader caused Homebrew blackscreen
July 11, 2009 11:23PM
I am new to homebrew and to using fourms, so I hope this is the right place to post this message. I have a Wii 4.0u which I installed the homebrew channel on using the bannerbomb exploit. Everything went so well I decided to install a preloader to protect the system from bricking. In this attempt, I did just that. The preloader exited with an error. After this clicking on the homebrew channel gives me a black screen and the shopping channer just sits on the opening screen like it is trying to find a connection. I tried to follow the instructions by Arikado to fix the problem, but cannot completely install IOS60. I used the listed method to install IOS61 without a problem. IOS60 downloads and installs up to part 7 and then says it can't get the information form the Http: address. Nothing would install using the +Trucha setting. At this point I am completely lost. I would appreciate any help that could get my homebrew channel working again before the wife and grandkids hang me in the back yard. Thanks in advance.....
Re: Preloader caused Homebrew blackscreen
July 11, 2009 11:31PM
Try launching the hackmii installer and uninstalling the homebrew channel, and then reinstalling it. Do you still get a black screen?
July 12, 2009 12:14AM
Install IOS60 -Trucha and uninstall the Homebrew Channel with the HackMii Installer. Then, reinstall the Homebrew Channel and see if it works.

I think the error you are getting when you try to use WiiSCU is from your Wi-Fi connection being lost. This would also explain why the Shop Channel won't load. Just keep trying to install IOS60 until it succeeds.
July 12, 2009 03:56AM