Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Biggest cause of bricking?

Posted by Kadin 
Biggest cause of bricking?
February 01, 2009 12:46AM
Total newb here and before I attempt to install the channel, etc., I'd like to know what the biggest contributor is to have a system brick on you. As long as I know what I need to avoid, it will help me as well as following step by step. Just like everyone else, I don't want to turn my Wii into a paperweight.

Thanks!
Re: Biggest cause of bricking?
February 01, 2009 01:16AM
Installing the HBC will absolutely, 100% certainly, not brick you. Acting like a moron when you use applications to permanantly install and unistall stuff from IOS and the system menu probably will brick you. However, you shouldn't need to mess with that stuff so you'll be fine. Remember though, before you use any app read through its readme very carefully. Doing so may one day save your wii.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/01/2009 01:17AM by Arikado.
February 01, 2009 01:28AM
Thanks for the response. Well I read everything I could and got my SD card and game in order. I started to do everything but as the loader or whatever it is that initially loads the channel was running, it came up saying "You have Wii System menu version 385 (v24 USA) installed. The Homebrew Channel has only been tested with Wii System menu version 354 (v22) and below. Press Accept to continue at your own risk...."

I chose to Cancel. Do I need to downgrade to another version? My system just came back from repair a couple weeks back...fyi.

Thanks.
February 01, 2009 01:29AM
What firmware do you have?
February 01, 2009 01:35AM
February 01, 2009 01:37AM
Use beta 2 of the twilight hack.
February 01, 2009 01:38AM
I did. But that message made it appear that it hasn't been tested on the latest Menu version that I have. Is it possible that I've got an even more updated version that's not compatible?
February 01, 2009 01:40AM