Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

USB Webcam support

Posted by cagell 
USB Webcam support
August 26, 2009 04:40AM
Hi all,

I am new to all the WiiBrew but I wonder if somebody ever looked into drivers for a webcam on the wii. I know there are apps for linux running on the wii and people who have support for USB drivers. I wonder if somebody ever mapped the Phillips webcam drivers to the Wii through linux or something similar.

To start it would be good to have just a simple application that displays the image from the USB webcam. Is that possible, is that hard?

This has millions of applications (video chat, skype-like apps, image processing used as tool for games eyetoy-like) etc.

Let me know if there is some work towards that direction. I never coded for the wii but have some experience with C/C++ and camera drivers on linux.

Thanks

CAGELL
Re: USB Webcam support
August 28, 2009 11:05PM
Sounds interesting... You could send video messages to other users. If it's possible, we could possibly incorporate it into WiiConnect.
August 29, 2009 12:03AM
And incorperate it into homebrew apps, or homebrew online apps.
Verbal chat would be nice to have for the wii as well...
August 29, 2009 08:17PM
Yes, i can think of a lots of applications of the USB webcam

a) Video chat
b) Eye-toy-like games
c) Imagine an App that creates a Mii based on a picture of you..... that would rock
d) Build a face detector/ recognizer and load parameters based on the user
e) Remote video streaming of your home with your wii

You name it!!!

So who is in for that? Anyone with USB experience willing to help?

cagell
August 30, 2009 08:40PM
I definitely would... but I can't code.
September 01, 2009 04:44AM
i could test the apps but i cant code
September 03, 2009 03:46PM
I want to help and I can code!

I had the same Idea and found your topic. Do you have done any advances?
I have no usb webcam yet but that's good because I can choose one suitable for the project.