Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Load a Channel

Posted by htaed 
Load a Channel
October 06, 2010 02:05AM
Hi

I am currently working on an app specifically to load channels with memory patches (in a similar way to riivolution or GecoOS). However, I cannot work out how to list the channels or how to boot them (just a bit vital). So firstly, what is the best way to get a list of all the installed channels (preferably in an array)? Secondly, how do you launch a channel? I have looked at a few source codes but none seem organised or commented so it is difficult to follow. Thanks for the help

htaed
Re: Load a Channel
October 06, 2010 08:32PM
Launching a channel can be done simply by using the function WII_LaunchTitle(), but I have never been able to get it to work (probably as I am not a programmer) - look at bootOpera source for more on that.

As for listing installed channels, maybe have a look at bushing's Title Lister or SysCheck or something like that.

And BTW, Gecko OS can already launch channels with memory patches, why do you need a new loader?
October 07, 2010 01:02AM
Thanks SifJar, I will go look at them. I wonder how I missed the load channel when looking at Geco OS. Nevermind.

And in reply to
SifJar
And BTW, Gecko OS can already launch channels with memory patches, why do you need a new loader?
Purely as a test to push my own limits as a programmer. And I get a migraine if I use GecoOS too much
October 07, 2010 08:20PM
If its the interface of Gecko OS thats the problem, I think you can change it (may need to compile with different images, but thats it). The skin was changed a few releases back, so its definitely possible, and I'd say that'd be easier than writing a new channel loader :P
October 07, 2010 09:22PM
SifJar