Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Kaillera implemation

Posted by SwiftFinch 
Kaillera implemation
December 25, 2008 01:23PM
Would it be possible to integrate Kaillera into existing emulators to make use of the wii's internet? Kaillera can be put in emulators on the computer, but I dunno if it's possible with wiibrew because I'm not a developer of one.

But it would be so awesome.
Re: Kaillera implemation
December 25, 2008 03:44PM
The Kaillera client itself is closed-source, and Windows-based. Unless someone takes a huge challenge and writes a full replacement, compatible with Kaillera, just for Wii, it's impossible. The best shot would be porting Open Kaillera, but will be still very hard.
December 25, 2008 07:31PM
Or replicate the system. All it does is transmit inputs from one system down the wire to another system. I don't think there's any validation or anything (I say that because I was playing Killer Instinct, that became out of sync)
December 25, 2008 09:31PM
DanielHueho
The Kaillera client itself is closed-source, and Windows-based. Unless someone takes a huge challenge and writes a full replacement, compatible with Kaillera, just for Wii, it's impossible. The best shot would be porting Open Kaillera, but will be still very hard.

They have a download for the client SDK for developers, which I'm guessing could be used. I'm not the best/most knowledgeable programmer, but I would assume that this would employ the same technique that other developers used to port emulators to wiibrew.
December 25, 2008 10:53PM
The Client SDK documents how to implement the Kaillera DLL into your own application. This DLL is Windows based and not portable as-is (unless you reverse engineered it)
December 28, 2008 09:26AM