Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Revisiting Stepmania Wii...

Posted by borbzz 
Revisiting Stepmania Wii...
April 24, 2009 06:44PM
Hello everyone,

I'm a longtime follower of the Wii homebrew scene, but a first time participant. I've decided to take up porting StepMania to the Wii, and I have made some good progress in the initial investigation. You can see a breakdown of my milestones here:
[wiibrew.org]

I'm a professional C/C++ programmer by day, but I'm new to Wii homebrew development. Looks like I'll need to learn how to use GX and all the other Wii libraries. I just wanted to introduce myself, and see if any other homebrew devs have any advice for porting a relatively large SDL/OpenGL program to the Wii.

-borbzz
Re: Revisiting Stepmania Wii...
April 24, 2009 06:49PM
Welcome to the homebrew scene! :) :)

Its great to finally see a new dev instead of a new n00b.

I wish I had some good tips for you, but the best thing I can reccomend is looking at my WiiBreaker source for an example of using the balance board.

Best of luck,
Arikado

PS: Feel free to ask me any questions you ever have at any time. Even if I can't give you a definitive answer, hopefully I can at least hook you up with someone who can.
April 24, 2009 11:45PM
Uh your page got deleted...

Anyways I hope you are able to finish this, I would love to see a stepmania port for the Wii ^^
April 25, 2009 12:32AM
I would also love to see a port of stepmania game!!!

If it won't use the same SIM files i would love to help making stepcharts for it! :D
April 26, 2009 03:19AM
Page was moved here:

[wiibrew.org]
April 27, 2009 10:03PM
tissemikkel
If it won't use the same SIM files i would love to help making stepcharts for it! :D

Thanks for the enthusiasm! I'm hoping my port will be compatible with most songs/charts in Stepmania format. If I can't get libvorbis ported to the Wii, then we might be limited to only those StepMania songs in MP3 format.
April 27, 2009 10:17PM
borbzz
tissemikkel