Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mega Merged Oct.23 Update Thread

Posted by bushing 
Re: Latest Wii Update 10/23/08
October 25, 2008 01:24AM
>_>
<_<
which one should i get? i'm a noob, so i was looking at the noob friendly version, but after the NFV theres update 2, so is the NFV still ok?
October 25, 2008 01:36AM
Arikado
Unfortunately, new games coming out soon (gh:wt ac:cf) might force us to update. Will that undo what muzer's app does?
The discs were all pressed before the update was released. I'm doubting that it includes this update, although I don't know for sure. I've seen GH:WT torrents floating around so google might say whether it includes an update or not, and I'll find out soon enough myself first thing Sunday morning. If there is an update it might detect that IOS51 is already installed and skip it (I have no idea how it decides to update though), but if it does update then it will overwrite and undo the patchmii install, yes. However, you can always use Starfall to skip the disc update if there is one.

EDIT: Btw, my little sis just bought wii music. That doesn't contain the latest firmware update does it? Thankfully, I managed to bribe her into not using it until I know for sure.
Just try it. If there is an update the system menu will give you a chance to power the Wii off before installing the update (it won't actually install it unless you agree to).

Tona posted an updated version that fixes fakesign in one of the new IOS's, could that be used for channel installation after games force us to update?
Unless the Wii Update process won't update IOS51 because it already exists (which would be a pretty stupid move), no. If it does, then yes. But a better decision would be to not rely on that and instead install cIOS/PatchMii before updating and then you can always use that to do whatever you need to.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/25/2008 01:38AM by AerialX.
October 25, 2008 03:36AM
AerialX