Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to this

Posted by persephone325 
New to this
October 08, 2009 09:35PM
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to all this, and I was just wondering how these applications work, and how I would download them. I currently have a Wii with a 4.1 system menu. I also have trouble with downloading things correctly to an SD card. (If a thread like this has already been made, could you please point me in the right direction?) Thanks in advance for any help.
Re: New to this
October 08, 2009 09:38PM
Firstly, don't update to 4.2. Secondly, try to use the Homebrew Browser to download your apps.
October 08, 2009 09:44PM
Is using Homebrew Browser easier than downloading things to an SD card?
October 08, 2009 09:46PM
Yes. No need to use the computer to download apps. Assuming you have internet on the Wii.
October 08, 2009 09:55PM
Would that be the only thing I would have to download to an SD card?
October 08, 2009 09:56PM
Yes. It downloads homebrew directly to the SD card, and organises them so they can be read by the Homebrew Channel. It's very easy to use.
October 08, 2009 10:02PM
Oh! So it downloads the Homebrew Channel as well?
October 08, 2009 10:58PM
No, it puts the apps in the correct folders so that the HBC can see them.
October 08, 2009 11:08PM
Oh, ok. Is there a step-by-step guide on the wiki, or somewhere? So I know what to download and in what order to do what.
October 08, 2009 11:21PM
Yeah, there's a guide on the wiki. Look on the front page and find the link "Homebrew Setup". That guides you through the process. The gist of it is:

Download bannerbomb v2, HackMii Installer 0.6 and Homebrew Browser
Rename the private folder on your SD card to privateold
Copy the private folder from bannerbomb to your SD card in the root (i.e. not in any folders)
Copy installer.elf from HackMii Installer to the root of your SD card and rename it boot.elf