Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Should We Update To 4.0?

Posted by slyfox299 
Should We Update To 4.0?
June 29, 2009 05:42AM
Hi All!!!

I want your opinion on this. I was a noob who updated to 4.0 as a virgin wii. Thus, when I heard 4.0 was out, I was so mad. Until BannerBomb was released. I then ordered 4 SD cards (:D) and got hooked on homebrew.

Now since then, I have come within 2 bricks, both which I fixed because I was 4.0. Now it has come to my attention that there are several people who bricked their Wii's but were at 3.2/3.3 and now they have a nice white doorstop.

For instance: I was using to change and mod my system menu. I tried to make my own, but I corrupted my menu. I could load up the SM but any attempt at running a channel crashed the wii. I managed to run the dol through BannerBomb instead, and now I am all clean and fine.

This is just my story. I am sure there are others out there who have experienced similar cases. Would you care to share them?

So my point is this. At the moment, it almost seems that any Wii with: A-BootMii B-Preloader C-HBC D-Wii@4.0 If they have all of these, they will be fine. What are your thoughts?

INSTALL BOOTMII AND PRELOADER NOW!!! OR BE DOOMED!!!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2009 06:55PM by Arikado.
Re: Should We Update To 4.0?
June 29, 2009 04:58PM
I really don't understand how being on System Menu 4.0 helped you here.
June 29, 2009 06:27PM
Uh, basically, as long as you have bootmii installed as boot2, its (AFAiK) impossible to brick your wii and not be able to fix it. 3.2 is actually the ideal system menu. I also agree with MattMan. Where have you heard stories of people saying they had a bricked 3.2/3.3/.3.4, but if they were on 4.0 they could've fixed it???

From what I've heard, it usually the other way around! :P

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2009 06:28PM by WaxyPumpkin72.
June 29, 2009 06:55PM
If you have BootMii boot2, theres no reason for Preloader.
June 29, 2009 07:23PM