Questions. I am a huge newbie.
January 05, 2010 01:00AM
Hello I'm beeks10

I have a little more questions

1) how do people brick there wiis.

2) what do i use for update 4.2u

3) what is the U is 4.2u

4) do i use HackMii Installer v0.6 for update 4.2u

and what are on homebrew. like why do people get it, whats so great?
Re: Questions. I am a huge newbie.
January 05, 2010 01:05AM
You could've just put these in your original topic. Arikado, you should probably just merge this....

1.) There are a lot of ways to brick your wii. See this page for more info.
2.) You navigate to your wii settings and select "Update Wii System."
3.) The "U" means your wii was made in the US.
4.) Yes.

beeks10
and what are on homebrew. like why do people get it, whats so great?
Here's a list of some homebrew apps:
[wiibrew.org]

My favorite ones would probably be Gecko OS, MPlayer CE, Wiiero, and Super Mario War.

From a users perspective, homebrew can just be something fun. Some users like to just play homebrew games, some like to play region free games through the use of Gecko OS....There are a lot of "great" things about homebrew.

From a developer's/hacker's perspective, creating homebrew can be a good learning experience.

I hope that helps answer your questions.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/05/2010 08:54AM by WaxyPumpkin72.
January 05, 2010 08:41AM
beeks10

1) how do people brick there wiis.

2) what do i use for update 4.2u

3) what is the U is 4.2u

4) do i use HackMii Installer v0.6 for update 4.2u

1. Without homebrew, you can brick a Wii if you lose/turn off power during the update, or try updating in a different region (bring a US Wii to the UK, or update through an import game)

With homebrew, you can brick it by altering the NAND or WAD. I'm keeping safe by just installing the Homebrew Channel and playing homebrew from that.

2. Either update through the internet on your Wii or (faster) update through a recent game (best one I heard is New Super Mario Bros Wii).