Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DVDx 3.4, BootMii and Homebrew on 4.3u wii

Posted by apollo1980 
DVDx 3.4, BootMii and Homebrew on 4.3u wii
August 27, 2010 03:15PM
Hello. Noob here.

I just installed Homebrew yesterday on a 4.3u system using the Super Smash Brothers workaround.

While I got Homebrew on the system, I was told I couldn't install BootMii because I had to go IOS or something like that.

Can someone tell me what need to do?

Secondly, I used the Homebrew Browser to download DVDx 3.4. When I went to install it, I was told:

Error -2011 installing dvd stub ticket

and there was a second error.

Just for the heck of it, I downloaded the original DVDx file, just in case THAT needed to be installed first, and 3.4 was an upgrade. Same problem.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance!
Re: DVDx 3.4, BootMii and Homebrew on 4.3u wii
August 27, 2010 04:01PM
The Hackmii Installer automatically installed Bootmii/IOS; however, this is minimally useful. You should install Bootmii/boot2, as it provides the best possible brick protection. Though if you have a newer wii, you can not install Bootmii/boot2, and the installer will tell you this. DVDx can not normally be installed on 4.3. This is because it is no longer necessary. Launch WiiMC through the HBC, and DVD playback will work without DVDx. Keep in mind that if your wii was purchased within the past year, it is likely that it is unable to play DVDs.
August 27, 2010 04:26PM
FYI, Smash Stack isn't a "workaround". It is a fully fledged exploit, as much as any other like Twilight Hack or Bannerbomb.
August 27, 2010 05:11PM
Thanks folks.

Note: I bought my Wii a little under two years ago, so I assume I'm in the safe zone when it comes to loading a DVD. Please confirm.

A few questions.

1.) Because I tried to install DVDx and DVDx 3.4 and got errors, should I worry, or is it not a big deal?