Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

In over my head...

Posted by andrea22k 
In over my head...
September 10, 2010 12:56AM
Hi... I am so non-computer friendly... and I have been trying to understand the directions for installing the software on my wii...

I do not own any of the three games/download things that are offered. Is there any way around this?

Sorry if this seems so silly. I searched the forums and didn't get a clear answer. I have an English degree... this stuff is a little over my head, but my son wants to watch dvds!
Re: In over my head...
September 10, 2010 02:43AM
If you are on System Menu 4.3 (you can check by going to "Wii Options", then System Settings and in the upper-righthand corner it will show your version) then you must have one of these three games: Super Smash Bros. Brawl, LEGO Indiana Jones, or Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Wheelie Breakers.
You also need an SD card that is less than 2GB in size. (In between 512MB - 2GB is recommended.)
Also, depending on how new the Wii is, the DVD drive will not read anything but official Wii game discs.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/10/2010 03:18AM by bg4545.
September 10, 2010 03:13AM
I'll take a crack at answering this to the best of my ability since nobody else has yet.
This is from my own experience and reading up on stuff...which does take a good long time but can be done.

First off, you can't play DVD without something to help the Wii along. If your Wii is too new, it won't do it anyway. If that's all you want to do, disregard EVERYTHING I'm about to say and buy a cheap DVD player. If you are wanting to have some fun with stuff that "normal" Wii systems aren't supposed to do and possibly without the guarantee of playing DVD, continue.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------