Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wii with black screen

Posted by alexkash 
Wii with black screen
December 17, 2010 01:56AM
I wanted to help my friend to load Brew Channel on his Wii which is not moded or has anything installed and it had ver. 3.4U on it. So I decided to upgrade it to ver. 4.3U first which I start doing. I have left it over night to upgrade and after 10 hours it was about 90% done. At that time I have power it off and powered it back on and nothing shows up on the screen now. Is there something I can do to get it back online?
Re: Wii with black screen
December 17, 2010 04:02AM
Maybe that Wii has been bricked.

I thought u were supposed to load the Brew channel first before upgrading.

Sorry I'm not an expert can't help u much.

But I foresee that the wii cannot be fixed anymore because u neither have Brew nor bootmii (or Boot2), and no NAND backup file.

Awww man u shouldn't have off the wii in the first place.
December 17, 2010 04:15AM
I was upgrading the Wii's System to ver. 4.3U from the wifi under the menu it’s the Wii's normal upgrade. the upgrade hung. I shouldn't power it off but it was taken over 10 hours to do upgrade, something went wrong during the upgrade.
December 17, 2010 04:35AM
Actually my case and your case is the same. I remember doing a semi-brick upgrade from 3.2J to 3.4U but I got impatient and plug it out and back in, but it worked. Have you tried again? Probably the wii didn't hang, cause when I did it, the wii finish upgrading after a little less than half bar.
December 17, 2010 05:09AM
December 17, 2010 06:32AM
What you have is a brick caused by an error that ocurred when you were trying to update the system menu and there are two ways to fix this:

+If the Wii has not been modded in any way send it to nintendo and they may fix it for a small fee (not really sure about the exact amount)