Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Saved Data Manager

Posted by htaed 
New Saved Data Manager
November 17, 2010 12:31PM
Hi, I have an idea for an app, However I don’t have the skills needed to code it. I am an experienced coder but the last time I did any C programming was on a 64 bit processor (just a little old). So I need someone to help me.

My idea is an app (which will be installable as a channel) that can dump saved game data over a network rather than too the SD card. However I would like it to be controlled mainly by the PC. So here is what I have in mind.
When launched the following things would happen, in this order:
1 - wii connects to the network and puts out a list of all possible saved data for dumping.
2 - Pc reads that list and displays it on screen
3 - User selects which saved Data to be dumped, which is sent back to the wii
4 - Wii starts dump process over the network
5 - User at PC selects a save destination.

I would also like the ability to restore saved data. I can make the computer side of this program in a matter of hours. I am also able to make any graphics needed for the Wii side, since I presume it would need a menu to select ether Dump or Restore saved data.
Thanks for your help.

PS sorry if this is in the wrong place, I didn’t really think it belonged in coding.

Thanks again
Re: New Saved Data Manager
November 21, 2010 02:16AM
that sounds a lot like FTPii. no, wait, exactly like FTPii. the PC side is already done ( any old ftp client ), and the wii side is already done.
November 21, 2010 03:01AM
I guess he's talking about one the specializes in saves and lists them like the Wii does?
November 21, 2010 02:13PM
That would only really require a front end for the PC side FTP client to be thrown together I guess. Perhaps if someone modified an existing open source FTP client it would be possible?
November 22, 2010 05:02PM