problems w/ emualtors accessing SD card
November 17, 2009 03:45AM
Hello,

This is my first post, and I must confess I'm pretty new to this homebrew stuff.

anyway, I have several emulators on my SD card, and for some reason the GX emulators (VBAGX, FCEULTRAGX, SNES9XGX) all seem to have this issue.

Whenever I boot these emualtors, it reads something like "Error accessing... (rom directory)" and gives me the option to retry or cancel. Whenever I cancel and manually browse the SD card, many subdirectories of folders are unable to be accessed. If I move ROMs to the root directory, it can't seem to run them either.

Genesis Plus however, doesn't seem to have any of these problems and can boot ROMs just fine.

Anybody have any idea what the problem is? All the emus are up to date with the newest versions.

Thanks!
Re: problems w/ emualtors accessing SD card
November 17, 2009 12:53PM
Have you made sure that your roms are in SD:/snes9x/roms/?
November 17, 2009 11:18PM
Yes. For all the emulators, ROMs are in correct locations.
November 21, 2009 12:47AM
you need a folder in the root of the sd card named the same as the said app folder. the folder in the root should have a roms and saves folder
November 26, 2009 05:00AM
Nothing was wrong with the folders.

All along - my SD card was just locked. Huh.

I had hardly noticed because I was still able to transfer files just fine.
November 28, 2009 04:59PM
I've just had what could be a related problem. I wanted to make a backup of my SD Card on Windows. Both the /fceux/roms and /snes9x/roms directories gave read errors on Windows. Putting the card back in the Wii the two sets of roms were visible and the games play OK. With the card plugged back into Windows I did a check disk/repair disk on the card. This cleared the read errors but it also wiped the two rom directories from the card!