Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newb Questions about HBC and BootMii

Posted by icednewb 
Newb Questions about HBC and BootMii
August 26, 2009 04:15PM
I'm totally new to the homebrew scene and had a few questions about advantages/disadvantages of installing certian things and what is affected by those installs.

My system is updated to System Menu 4.1.

I installed the HBC with the hackmii installer and it worked fine, from there I was abe to install the HBB and able to install a couple of apps to my SD card. My questions with this are, when I installed the HBC, did I updated/modify/replace any IOS? Is there any chance of bricking a Wii by using the hackmii installer or running a system updated later?

During the install of HBC, it said that I could install BootMii. What exactly does BootMii do and would it be beneficial for me to install it and backup my NAND (which I read you can do). I understand that this would give me a backup incase something went wrong, but if I only do what I said above and then install some emulators (which is all I really plan on doing), do I have any reason to worry that my Wii may become bricked? Does BootMii take over the boot process or does it boot normally unless you hold a button down or something? I'm just wondering why I would want to install it or if I need to install it and how it affects the Wii (what it overwrites, does it change the boot process, how do you use it to recover from a brick, etc...)

I've read about installing VC and WiiWare content, but it seems you must overwrite/patch/install IOSs and that it can be dangerous and that is infact what causes you to brick your Wii. I plan on staying away from this for that reason, but just for education, would it be as simple as dropping a wad-manger app onto the HBC and that would allow you install/uninstall, or would you really need to install/patch IOSs and such in order to load that sort of thing?