Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie needs help - I'm kinda stuck

Posted by manarak 
Newbie needs help - I'm kinda stuck
November 20, 2010 12:06AM
Hello all, I'm new to Wii and Homebrew altogether, my kids wanted a Wii, so...

I have a Wii version 4.3E
I installed Homebrew using Yugi-oh 5D.

Now I am unsure what to do.
The Homebrew channel shows up in the menu, but when I go there, the only thing I see is a screen with bubbles.

As far as I understood, Homebrew should list available programs in SD card, DVD drive, etc.

A friend gave me a DVD with hundreds of Homebrew stuff on it, but when I put it in the drive, nothing happens.

If I press "1", the DVD drive is not listed in possible data sources, and when I press the home key and try to run bootmii (don't even now what that is), the screen just becomes black and stays that way until I cut the power.

So I am a bit lost.
How to get all the cool stuff to show?
Re: Newbie needs help - I'm kinda stuck
November 20, 2010 12:30AM
I read and re-read the how-tos, and I think I might have quit the hackmii installer before installing bootmii

I tried to use the same procedure again to get into the hackmii installer (using the yugi-oh savegame), but the installer doesn't load anymore. It loaded the first time, and then never again.

I don't know what to do.
November 20, 2010 01:03AM
The Homebrew Channel reads from SD cards and USB drives only, not DVD. You don't need to install BootMii, especially if you don't now what it is.
November 20, 2010 02:52AM
You need a apps folder to put the apps in for it to show up in the homebrew channel.
November 20, 2010 10:31AM
apps folder on the SD-card?
November 20, 2010 11:30AM
Create a folder called "apps" and put it in root of your SD card. Like so:

sd:/apps/