Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help me with finishing a port of Hexen to the Wii

Posted by Arikado 
Help me with finishing a port of Hexen to the Wii
July 29, 2010 09:06PM
I've spent a couple of days porting Hexen over to the Wii. I'm rather new to porting (though thanks to scanff, desmume, and supertux, I do have a handful of experience) and this is a fairly challenging port compared to what I've already been exposed to (yes, I am saying that DeSmuME was more straightforward ;p ). I am stuck with some linker errors and hoping someone can help me to resolve them :)

I got the source from Hexen from here: [www.libsdl.org]

I also got the source to the NDS port of Hexen to give me a little inspiration along the way: [gtamp.com]

Note that you will need SDL-Wii installed to be able to work on this.

In my attempt at porting the game I've made very few changes to the original code aside from cutting out the use of the CD-Drive and a few optional libraries (this was also done in the NDS port). I changed the file paths so that hopefully loading the Hexen WAD and saving and loading the game should work when it compiles. I'm not sure if it input will work right off the bat (probably not) but it shouldn't be too hard to fix at all once the WAD can be run.

Once it actually loads and runs the Hexen WAD, I'd like to open up a SVN to better maintain the project as well as optimize the code and add in other things to make this a very solid, complete port to Wii. All I really need is to get this compiling. Even if it won't run the WAD once it compiles, I'm fairly certain I can handle finishing it from there (unless I've done something seriously wrong - which is possible with this being a complex port and one of my very firsts).

Anyways, you can grab what I have so far and the shareware WAD here: [www.mediafire.com]

I've always enjoyed Hexen and would be thrilled to be able to play it on the Wii as I'm sure a ton of other people would be as well.