Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wiimote (and/or Nunchuck) passthru to Gamecube/Classic controller

Posted by MikeKnoop 
Wiimote (and/or Nunchuck) passthru to Gamecube/Classic controller
December 27, 2009 01:07AM
Hey all,

Just got started soft-modding my Wii the other day, and have already learned a great deal about the internal workings of the Wii. I'm a developer in other fields so first I'll explain the idea I had then I'll explain (with my limited knowledge) how I'd imagine it being technically developed. I'd enjoy feedback from someone who could explain or clarify whether the technical workings are possible today, or if I'm totally off base.

The Idea
Essentially, there are several notable features of the Wii which require you to own and use a Gamecube or Classic controller. One prime example is the Virtual Console built by Nintendo which has really quirky restrictions as to which controllers you may use with any given ROM (such as only classic controllers allowed to play VC N64 games). To simplify my idea, I'll focus solely on Wiimote -> GC controls. I'd like to see a piece of software written, or the Wii's own software further modded, to allow standard, non-motion Wiimote+Nunchuck controls (A, B, D-pad, Z, R, L, Analog Stick) to be passed through to to the Wii in the form of Gamecube controls.

The Wii would ideally think an GC controller is plugged into the Wii, and would then receive controls via the Wiimote, thinking it was a GC controller. The Wii would think controls are coming from a different controller source than the one they actually are.

N64 games have already proven to be playable with Wiimote+Nunchuck setups via Wii64 (http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii64/#Input_Mappings).