Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

-- Wii System Update 4.2 Mega Topic --

Posted by Arikado 
Re: -- Wii System Update 4.2 Mega Topic --
November 17, 2009 06:44PM
HI. I'm really new to this and have been through this thread but not found someone in the same position as me. I bought a Wii at the weekend which was v4.1 and followed the instructions to load HBC using Bannerbomb v1. All went well and the HBC was there. Unfortunately, I went to bed not knowing the Wiiconnect 24 was on and got up to find I was now on v4.2! HBC is still there but I can't watch DVD's on the Wii. Thing is, I don't know if I need to do something else or if I could do so before the update as I didn't try it last night. I tried to install a couple of DVD players from the HB browser but they won't install. Can someone please help? Thanks.
November 17, 2009 07:16PM
The latest version of DVDx uses a different title ID because Ninty blocked the old one. No DVD playing apps have been updated to work with this yet. You will have to wait for them to be updated. However, this issue should not occur again in future, even if the title ID has to change again, because there is know code in libogc (library used for Wii homebrew development) which lets apps determine for themselves the title ID, and then use it, so no matter what the title ID is, they will work.
November 17, 2009 07:42PM
Thanks for that. With regard to being able to use your own backed up games, is this the same?
November 17, 2009 08:19PM
Here's a tip: Go to the front page of this forum and read the big red letters near the top.
November 18, 2009 03:57AM
I need to update my Wii to 4.2 so I can use the BBC iPlayer Channel (UK Only), The HBC Updated to 1.06? And I forgot to install DVDX and BootMii IOS, How would I install these before I update since I couldn't install once I install 4.2, Also once I install 4.2 how would I go getting the HBC back since 4.2 deletes it I think,